VPA Multi-Stakeholder Implementation Committee (M-SIC)

Upon conclusion of the VPA negotiations, the Government of Ghana gained recognition from both the private sector and civil society as having worked to ensure effective consultation with all stakeholders to develop an agreement for which there was strong stakeholder support. It was therefore important that the same spirit of consultation should remain in implementation.

In 2010, a multi-stakeholder implementation committee (M-SIC) was constituted to oversee the overall implementation of the VPA and coordinate the delivery of outputs to ensure that the objectives are achieved in line with the content and time schedule set out in the agreement. Additional responsibilities assigned to the M-SIC are as follows:

  1.  Ensure that the implementation of the VPA continues to be linked to the national aspirations of forest and wildlife management as well as Ghana’s obligations under other international conventions.
  2.  Maintain open communication channels with all stakeholder constituencies on the implementation of the VPA.
  3.  Prepare for the work of the JMRM.

Membership/Composition of M-SIC

The VPA M-SIC is originally composed of representatives from the following key stakeholder groups:

  1. The Forestry Commission
  2. The Ministry of Lands and Natural Respources
  3. Civil Society Organizations
  4. Ghana Revenue Authority (Customs Division)
  5. Ministry of Finance
  6. Ministry of Trade
  7. Attorney Generals Department
  8. The Timber Industry

The M-SIC is chaired by the Deputy Minister of Lands and Natural Resources with secretarial support from the Timber Validation Department of the Forestry Commission. The Committee has been holding meetings to discuss issues affecting the effective implementation of the VPA in Ghana. So far, the M-SIC has held about 20 ordinary meetings to move the VPA implementation forward with decisions formed around consensus without a single occasion requiring voting to settle on a matter. Additionally, the M-SIC has been holdings series of meetings specially designed to prepare Ghana for JMRM meetings where members deliberate on matters to form country positions for a united front engagement with the EU side.

Inauguration of the Reconstituted Timber Validation Committee (TVC)

The Timber Validation Committee (TVC) was reconstituted in March 2018 by the sector Minister as provided for in L.I. 2254 of 2017. The formal inauguration however took place on April 13, 2018. The inaugural ceremony for the 11-member TVC took place at the Conference room of the Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources. The swearing-in  ceremony was performed by the Deputy Minister for Lands and Natural Resources, Hon. Benito Owusu-Bio who administered the oath of office for the TVC members on behalf of the sector Minister, Hon. John-Peter Amewu. In a speech read on behalf of the sector Minister, the TVC was reminded of its responsibility to provide watch-dog services in order to safeguard the principles of transparency, independence and credibility in the administration of the Ghana Timber Legality Assurance System (GhLAS) through effective complaints management with the aim of ensuring continuous improvement and good governance.

The swearing-in ceremony was witnessed by the Chief Director of the Ministry, Professor Patrick Agbesinyale together with a number of other senior officials at the Ministry. The pioneer TVC successfully ended its three-year tenure in April, 2017.

Below is the full membership list of the reconstituted TVC members:

Name                                                              Position                              Institution

Mr. Oscar Vulor                                             Chairman                             Private Legal Practitioner

Mr. Kwadwo Owusu Afriyie                          Member                               Forestry Commission

Mr. Musah Abu-Juam                                   Member                               Ministry of Lands & Natural Resources

Mr. Chris Beeko                                             Member                               Forestry Commission

Obrempong N. Krampah XI                        Member                               National House of Chiefs

Mr. Francis Aboagye Nyarko                        Member                              Ghana Police Service

Mr. Alex Dadzie                                               Member                              Ghana Timber Association

His Lordship Justice P. Baffoe                    Member                              Judicial Service

Mr. Mark Ofori Asante                                     Member                              Trades Union Congress

Mr. Ena K. Blege                                              Member                              Ghana Revenue Authority

Mr. Kofi Afreh Boakye                                      Member                              Non-Governmental Organization

News & Events

IMG 20180417 WA0012

Inauguration of the Timber Validation Committee