In accordance with Section 86 of the PFM Act, 2016 (Act 921) and the PFM Regulations, 2019 (L.I. 2378), the Internal Audit Agency (IAA)has inaugurated a 5- member Audit Committee for the Forestry Commission.
The Audit Committee is a high level corporate governance Committee which, as part of its functions, ensures that the head of the covered entity pursues the implementation of recommendations contained in both external and internal audit reports, implement Parliament’s decisions on the Auditor-General’s report as well as the reports of internal monitoring units.
The Chief Executive of Forestry Commission, Mr. John Allotey, said the inauguration of the re-constituted Audit Committee,  following the successful completion of the tenure of the previous one, marks an important milestone in the governance system of Forestry Commission.  He added that the FC Board of Commissioners, as part of its functioning structure, has a Finance and Audit Committee which among others, follows up on the implementation of audit recommendations by management. But the Audit Committee is acknowledged as a high level statutory requirement to further strengthen the pursuit of accountability, transparency and good corporate governance by Forestry Commission.
The Chief Executive assured that the Commission is more than ready to collaborate with the Audit Committee in ensuring that all audit recommendations and decisions of Parliament on the Auditor-General’s report are promptly and adequately dealt with as recommended.
 He concluded by thanking the outgoing committee for their commitment and hard work throughout their tenure.
Dr. Eric Oduro Osae admonished the new Committee members to ensure that they provide effective management, advisory and support functions to FC to ensure that all issues that are audit -related are resolved before it gets out of hand.
The members of the Committee are:
Mr. Kwasi Agyemang- Chairman
George Wireko Brobbey- Member
Professor Kingsley Oppong- Member
Mr.Isaac Agyin Bonney-Member
Mr. Senanu Mensah- Member
The Committee was then sworn in by Dr. Eric Oduro Osae.
The members swore the oaths of secrecy and office.
The outgoing Committee handed over essential documents to the new Audit Committee