The Forestry Commission has donated Five Hundred Thousand Ghana Cedis; One hundred Thousand Cedis in cash and Four Hundred Thousand Ghana Cedis worth of wood for construction purposes at Appiatse.
The Chief Executive of the Forestry Commission , Mr. John Allotey indicated that the Commission is following in the steps of the President, His Excellency, Nana Addo Danquah Akuffo Addo and the Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources in donating to the Fund. “ We belong to the Ministry and as the saying goes charity begins at home”, he added. He stated that trucks have conveyed some of the wood to the site and that has sparked excitement and a sense of hope amongst the people of the Appiatse Community.
Rev. Dr. Joyce Aryee, Chairperson of the Appiatse Support Fund said she is delighted that the Forestry Commission has taken this step and joined the cause to raise funds for victims of the Appiatse explosion. ‘When something happens we feel obliged to help and as Ghanaians tragedy brings us together” she continued.
She added that, it is the obligation of the Committee to solicit funds and distribute to the affected community in transparency.
Rev. Dr. Aryee thanked the Forestry Commission for the donation.
Hon. Benito Owusu Bio, Deputy Minister for Lands and Natural Resources in charge of Forestry and Chairman of the Appiatse Reconstruction Committee also said that the presentation of the wood is a step in the right direction and comes at the right time as they needed to roof some temporary structures provided by FRG mining company for victims of the explosion. He commended the Commission’s work under the current leadership.
Other dignitaries present were the Chairman of the FC Board, Tetrete Okuamoah Sekyim II who is also a member of the support fund Committee, members of the FC Board, the Deputy Chief Executives of the Forestry Commission , Mr. Nyadia Sulemana Nelson and Mr. Musah Iddrisu, staff of FC and staff of Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources.
A cheque of One Hundred Thousand Cedis was presented to the support fund committee who in turn issued a receipt to the Forestry Commission.